Opportunity to buy car - good or bad, advice?

The place to discuss anything off Topic. No sexually explicit subject matter, links, or pictures please.

Opportunity to buy car - good or bad, advice?

Postby JamesC on February 18th, 2009, 6:50 pm

First off I'm not sure if this is the right section for this, I do apologize if it is not. I'm sure it can be more it is. Anyway...

Okay I have a question for all Plymouth owners and enthusiast too. As my introduction said, I am a full time college student and would love to own a 57 or 58 Plymouth. Now I MIGHT have an opportunity to buy one from a salvage here in Kansas (it's near in South-East Kansas, but near the North-Eastern Oklahoma border), but it is about 2 - 3 hours away from where I live. Also I am not quite sure of the condition of the Plymouth. The woman told me it's a four door and pretty much mostly there and not sure it is a 57 or 58 (or what model - I have to ask the owner of the salvage) and that they had it for awhile, but probably can be restored. She said there are a few other 57 or 58's on their lot. (she also said they had CRUSHED most of the ones they did have, but kept parts to sell - I wanted to cry) Anyway, I also don't have a lot of money at the moment to dig deep into restoring it, probably will take, as excepted (and lots of money), years to complete, but I probably have enough to buy it from the salvage; I will have to call back at the beginning of next week for a price for the car, as the owner of the salvage is currently out of town. I just wanted some advice from all ya here on the forum before doing anything drastic and all. Let me know whatcha think?

I also must mention that I know some mechanical and other car repair aspects, but I am SO willing to learn more, obviously and my Dad and Uncle both know quite a bit about working on cars too.

Thanks!
"Oh Baby, Rock - Oh Baby, Rock - Rock n' Roll is here to stay - It will never die." ~Danny and The Juniors~
JamesC
Christine Car Club Member